H. P. Lovecraft’s Dreamlands

The Dreamlands is a universe where H. P. Lovecraft’s Dream Cycle series take place. It is an alternate reality that can only be entered via dreams.

The Dreamlands are divided into several regions:

The West, the most well-known and safe region of Dreamlands, a place where many dreamers enter the universe through the Steps of Deeper Slumber and the Enchanted Wood. Main western cities are Dylath-Leen, Ulthar, and Hlanith. Here also lies the Land of Mnar, where rise the ruins of Sarnath.

The South, home of the isle of Oriab and the areas known as the Fantastic Realms.

The East, home of Celephaïs and the dangerous Forbidden Lands.

The North, location of the feared Plateau of Leng, home of giant spiders and the Men of Leng, and a ruined city of Sarkomand. At the very north of the known world there is the Cold Waste and the city of Kadath. At the south coast of the region lies the city of Inquanok.

The Underworld, a subterranean region underneath the Dreamlands inhabited by various monsters.

The Moon, accessible via a ship and inhabited by toad-like Moon-Beasts allied with Nyarlathotep.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!